Back to All Events

2013 The future – unimaginable or unthinkable?

  • Courtyard Studio, Canberra Theatre Centre London Circuit Canberra, ACT, 2601 Australia (map)

We need to reduce emissions, invest in renewables and clean energy and change our economic reliance on coal and oil – a paradigm shift. How can we contribute to moving this critical agenda forward by imagining futures,  understanding and articulating the benefits of a sustainable global future and rehearsing the enormous cultural, political and social changes that must occur to prevent the unthinkable from happening?

TippingPoint Australia 2013 is an opportunity for leaders and change agents from arts, science and the business sectors to gather and harness hope, to identify the most effective strategies and actions to help each other make changes that will bring us closer to our happier imagined futures.

This is a day structured and facilitated to enable:

  • uploads of information and expertise from change agents and artists on what and how they are making a difference
  • personal reflection on the tipping points that we face in every minute of every day on this issue
  • strategic action planning and coaching for a change making project you can initiate
  • the creation and consolidation of a network with some of Australia’s most eminent activists, commentators and knowledge gatherers, whose expertise will be available to you on the day and in the future.

View the DELEGATES LIST here.

2013 TippingPoint PROGRAM: The future – unimaginable or unthinkable?

8.30am:  TippingPoint Australia registration (Canberra Theatre Centre Foyer)

The registration desk at Canberra Theatre Centre will be open from 8.30am (with a barista at hand!). There will be delegates registering for Australian Theatre Forum (ATF) as well as TippingPoint Australia. If you are attending both you can get your TippingPoint Australia registration (name card) when you register for ATF, if you are not attending ATF please come to the TippingPoint Australia section of the registration desk.

9.30am: Welcome to Country and Keynote Addresses (Main Theatre Space)

TippingPoint Australia and Australian Theatre Forum Welcome to Country and keynote addresses from Lenore Manderson and Kristin Alford (with the Australia Theatre Forum delegates) in the main theatre space.

10.45am: Travel to Courtyard Studio

TippingPoint Australia delegates break away from the Australian Theatre Forum and move to the Courtyard Studio. (Coffee and Tea available)

11.00am: TippingPoint Provocations (Courtyard Studio)

Introduction by Angharad Wynne-Jones, TippingPoint Australia Director.
Delegates hear 2 provocations from scientist Graeme Pearman and Senator Christine Milne.

11.30am: Imaginary Projects by TippingPoint Australia guest Artists (Courtyard Studio)

8 Australian artists will propose Imaginary Projects for 20 years in the future for us to consider. Artists include; Deborah Cheetham, Ash Dyer, Ben Fox, Ross Ganf, Nigel Jamieson, Hannie Rayson, Leisa Shelton, Willoh S Weiland. Facilitated by Matt Wicking. View artist presentation for 2050 on VIMEO

12.10pm: Group discussion of Projects (Courtyard Studio)1.10pm: Lunch (Courtyard Studio)

Lunch will be served in the same room as we are meeting so that discussions may continue.

2.00pm: Another Provocation (Courtyard Studio)

Introduction by David Finnegan, TippingPoint Australia facilitator. Delegates hear another provocation from futurist, Stuart Candy.

2.15pm: Open Space session (Courtyard Studio)

A self organising conferencing format on the topic What shall we do next? where delegates will get the opportunity to propose an agenda item and lead a discussion on that topic. Facilitated by Angharad Wynne-Jones.

5.15pm: Next Steps? (Courtyard Studio)

Facilitated by David Finnegan.

5.45pm: Closing ceremony (Courtyard Studio)

Closing Thanks and Ritual.

6.00pm: End of Forum


8.00pm: Reading of Hannie Rayson’s EXTINCTION – FREE
Courtyard Studio, Canberra Theatre Centre.

Directed by Hannie Rayson and Ian Pidd.
Performed by Tom Gutteridge, Tim Stitz, Rachael Maza and Petra Kalive.

“No one in this play is wicked. No one is entirely virtuous. What unites them all is the one urgent question, in the age of global warming, how are we to live?”

Extinction is set in Cape Otway on the windswept coast of southern Australia. One wild winter night, Harry Jewell is driving along the Great Ocean Road, when he hits an endangered tiger quoll. One week later he shows up at the Centre for Conservation and Public Education (the CAPE Institute) and slaps two million dollars on the table to fund a biodiversity research project. But there is a complication. Harry is the Managing Director of Powerhouse Mining. He has a license to explore the Otways for brown coal. The second complication is that Harry is adorableand recently divorced and for the women ecologists getting into bed with Big Coal, becomes more personal.

After the 2010 Tipping Point forum in Melbourne, Hannie Rayson was inspired to write a new play dealing with climate change. The play was commissioned by the Manhattan Theatre Club in partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and had its premiere reading in New York in 2012.

Attendance at TippingPoint Australia2013 is by invitation.

Cost: $75.00

Download The Book of Common Knowledge here PDF version or the iBook version.

LIKE our Facebook page to watch live streaming of the Forum.  Twitter: #TIPP13

Read the Wrap-up article in RealTime by Josephine Starrs [RealTime issue #116 Aug-Sept 2013 pg. 30]

TPA 2013 Forum TEAM:

TippingPoint Australia 2013 in Canberra is co-presented by TippingPoint Australia and Theatre Network Victoria (producer of the Australian Theatre Forum). The event is part of the Centenary of Canberra.

TippingPoint Australia:

Producers:  Angharad Wynne-Jones
Facilitators: Angharad Wynne-Jones, Matt Wicking and David Finnegan
Associate Producer: Angela Pamic [Theatre Network Victoria]
Production: Suzie Franke
Documentation: Sam Haren and Dan Koerner from Sandpit

Theatre Network Victoria / Australian Theatre Forum:

Curator: Alicia Talbot
Producer: Antonia Seymour
Executive Producer and TNV Director: Nicole Beyer

TPA Speakers: Senator Christine Milne, Graeme Pearman and Stuart Candy

TPA Artists: Ross Ganf, Leisa Shelton, Nigel Jamieson, Willoh S Weiland, Ben Fox, Deborah Cheetham, Hannie Rayson and Ash Dyer

Thank you to: Kim Webster (TNV) and Tim Hollo.

Supporters: Adelaide Rief, Anonymous, Brad Spolding, David Caffery, Eugenia Lim, Fiona Jenkins, Rebecca Youdell, Rebekah Berger, Tom Gutteridge.